How are you Leaping?

Inspired by Seth Godin, I am burying my disappointment with February and turning my thoughts to leaping through wonder and the exciting road ahead.

It’s not just Leap Day – an extension to  the brutal month of February.  It’s Leap Year and it can celebrate those great steps towards innovation and new adventures.

The existing power structure wants to maintain the status quo, and is generally opposed to the concept of leaping. In fact, if you want to make change happen, if you want to give others a chance to truly make a difference and to feel alive, it’s essential that you encourage, cajole and otherwise spread the word about what it means to leap.

An opportunity to help the people around you level up. It’s an obligation, an opportunity and a chance that I hope you’ll accept. Tell the others.

Leaping is a part of what we celebrate at Icarus.  Through our repeated efforts at making art, at connecting others, at innovating in the face of today’s challenges, we are crossing the globe – leap after leap, bound after bound.  To find out more about the Icarus Sessions in Rochester, check out our Facebook page – everyone is welcome, anyone can share!

hulk-leaping-o

So, how am I leaping today?  I have some leaps ready – knees bent, butt wiggling like a cat ready to pounce – that I can’t discuss quite yet, but which I think will have awesome impact.  Others?

  • Rochester Stories – the FOOD show – will be April 14th at Writers & Books!  It’s a pot luck event – bring a dish, hear and share stories of food – which so shapes our lives, traditions, and relationships.
  • The story beading class went well and I hope to carry that model forward into other programs.
  • I’m working on more ways to get Storychick out into the community.  If you have a group that would like to get its message heard or learn how to better understand each other through story, let me know – I’d be happy to work something out!
  • ROC Soup radio is rolling forward with great success.  I’m having a blast matching stories and music and sharing time and stories with great guests doing good work.

I’ll be posting more on all of these leaps soon.

Now it’s your turn!  How do you plan to level up?  What innovations, what art, are you making to change your world?  How are you LEAPING?  Comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

