It’s AMAZING, really …

100_0374It’s a phrase I use often, but one I find very important.

“Stories of wonder”

For me, my “episode” and its aftermath left a distinct impression.  Wonder surrounds us and it’s when we lose sight of it, when we let routine take over our lives, that the grey, bleak landscape of a Brave New World takes over and brings us down.  It’s there, every day, you just have to be willing to see it.

I’m a fantasy fan.  For me, wonder plays out on several levels.  There’s appreciating the beauty of nature, with all of the senses.  The colors of leaves and the play of sun and shadow among them.  The blue of the sky.  The quality of light before a thunderstorm.  The songs of the birds.  Marveling at the revelations and discoveries that science can bring.  Ancient civilizations, new species, the surface of Saturn’s moon.  But also, I like to believe that what our senses and science reveal may only be the surface of something deeper – that perhaps there are layers to reality that we are unable to touch in our modern world.

That’s me and I like letting my mind wander to such possibilities.  You may feel otherwise.  However you feel, there is wonder – it just may hold a different definition.   What amazes you?  What was the single most amazing thing to ever happen to you?  I’d love to hear in the comments below!

Whatever your wonder, don’t lose it.  Don’t let life become dull and grey.

2 thoughts on “It’s AMAZING, really …

  1. The first time I got to look through a real telescope, the operator said something that changed me forever. It was pointed at the Pleiades and he said “Those stars are roughly 400 light years away. That means, right about the time Galileo was famously turning his telescope up, photons left those stars, traveled trillions of miles while avoiding being absorbed by other objects and dust, to end up funneled down a tube, bounced off a mirror, through a lens into your eye. Kind of puts it into perspective, doesn’t it?”

    Since then, I’ve learned that it can take hundreds of thousands, to millions of years for a photon generated in the core of a star to even make it to the surface and leave the star. Humbling endeavor, indeed, Mr. Sagan.

Leave a Reply

