“I make connections”

One of the things I’ve been working on lately is organizing the local version of the Icarus sessions (#Icarus).  These have been set up by Seth Godin as a way to move the message from The Icarus Deception forward.  As he puts it:

The Icarus Sessions are a challenging new way to bring your art forward. Not to make a sales pitch, not to get customers or patrons, but to find the courage to stand up and say, “here, I made this.”

… The assignment: Tell the group about your art. What have you created? What frightened you? What matters?

Not a pitch. An act of brave vulnerability.

I made this.
It scared me.
This might not work.
Here’s how it changed me.
What do you think?

The February session was awesome – we had 19 people show and 9 of them shared their art.  We had great creative minds – as showcased both in their work and how they chose to share it.  It was inspiring and encouraging – as we realized we shared a lot of the same fears.

I shared a bit about my beads and the questions I’m asking myself about the jewelry.  More to come on the prototypes!

The best part, by far, were the connections that we made! I loved that people stayed long after the presentations were over to chat about all sorts of things, but often coming back to art and creating and connecting more.  The group from this session is excited to bring others in, to grow and strengthen the community, and to share more.

2/3 of those who shared this time were photographers, but we expect to see people from the other visual arts, dancers, musicians, coders, and more as we grow. We’ll be adding some feature speakers and time for Q&A between those who share.

We all saw how our art enables connections – each in our own way.  By sharing the stories of our art and the connections it makes, we made more connections.  Rochester has an awesome creative community and I can’t wait to hear more stories and to connect with more people.  Most of all, I am so psyched to be a part of this community of support! Many of us tend to doubt that we are artists, as I’ve noted before, and becoming part of this community can help people to realize that they do make art, that it matters, and that there’s more to be done.

A big thank you to Teri and Mike at Hanlon-Fiske Studios for hosting and helping to promote and organize the event from my seed of an idea!

Leave a Reply

