Thoughts on Peace

 

Today is the International Day of Peace.

“I urge everyone, between now and 21 September, to think about how they can contribute. Let us work together to ensure that the Road from Rio leads us to sustainable development, sustainable peace… and a secure future for all.”

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

I want to play a part. Through the connections of stories, I want to bring increased understanding to people who have let institutionalized stereotypes build walls between them. I plan to mediate the telling and sharing of stories so that voices can be heard, connections made, and, bit by bit, tensions eased.

It may seem like I’m smoking rainbows, but I think it can happen. And I’ll be working towards it as part of Storychick, so keep an eye here for how it develops.

 

One thought on “Thoughts on Peace

Leave a Reply

